Architecture Scope

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


The North Central Texas ITS Architecture is an update to the Regional Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Architecture for the North Central Texas Region. The North Central Texas Regional ITS Architecture is the Regional ITS Architecture for the North Central Texas Region. The Regional ITS Architecture establishes a blueprint for transportation integration and needs to be updated periodically to reflect technological advances in ITS. In addition, the Regional ITS Architecture needs to maintain consistency with the National ITS Architecture.

Time Frame

Existing to twelve years.

Geographic Scope

North Central Texas is a 16–county region of North Central Texas, which is centered around the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. It covers the following counties:

– Collin
– Dallas
– Denton
– Ellis
– Erath
– Hood
– Hunt
– Johnson
– Kaufman
– Navarro
– Palo Pinto
– Parker
– Rockwall
– Somervell
– Tarrant
– Wise

Service Scope

– Archive Data Management
– Public Transportation
– Traffic Management
– Traveler Information
– Emergency Management
– Automated Vehicles Safety Systems
– Maintenance and Construction
– Commercial Vehicle Operations